Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, live sessions and more!
Start Your Free Trial

Watch the 2020 NEA Jazz Masters Tribute Concert This Thursday

Produced in association with SFJAZZ, this year's event is online-only, starting at 8 PM ET on Aug. 20

The 2020 NEA Jazz Masters
The 2020 NEA Jazz Masters (clockwise from top left): Bobby McFerrin (photo: Carol Friedman), Reggie Workman (photo: Richard Kohler), Dorthaan Kirk (David Tallacksen/courtesy of WBGO), and Roscoe Mitchell (photo: Ken Weiss)

As previously reported in JazzTimes, the National Endowment for the Arts, in collaboration with SFJAZZ, is hosting a special online-only concert on Thursday, August 20, in honor of the 2020 NEA Jazz Masters: Dorthaan Kirk, Bobby McFerrin, Roscoe Mitchell, and Reggie Workman. 2017 NEA Jazz Master Dee Dee Bridgewater hosts the event, and drummer/composer Terri Lyne Carrington is its musical director, coordinating performances by acclaimed jazz musicians—including honorees McFerrin, Mitchell, and Workman—that have been recorded in various locations around the country. 

The concert also features remarks by the 2020 NEA Jazz Masters, as well as National Endowment for the Arts chair Mary Anne Carter and Randall Kline, the founder and executive artistic director of SFJAZZ. In addition to the musician honorees, performers include Bridgewater, Carrington, Ambrose Akinmusire, James Carter, Gerald Clayton, Vincent Davis, Lisa Fischer, Morgan Guerin, Oliver Lake, Christian McBride, Jevon McFerrin, Madison McFerrin, Taylor McFerrin, Kanoa Mendenhall, Junius Paul, Steve Turre, and the SFJAZZ High School All-Stars.

Watch the concert below, beginning at 8 PM ET/5 PM ET on Thursday night, or view it directly on the NEA’s YouTube channel.

Immediately following the 2020 NEA Jazz Masters Tribute Concert, join an in-depth discussion with the four honorees, hosted by Randall Kline. This live event—also broadcast right here via the NEA’s YouTube channel—will include an interactive Q&A session, in which the online audience, through the broadcast’s YouTube chat, can pose questions to the 2020 NEA Jazz Masters.

Congratulations to all four honorees!